Skip to main content

Open data · CC BY 4.0

Airline cabin baggage allowances: 30 airlines, checked at source

We read the cabin baggage rules for 30 airlines on each airline’s own website on 25 September 2026. 16 include a full-size cabin bag on their cheapest fare, 8 charge for it, and on 6 it depends on the route. 55 × 40 × 23 cm is the most common size limit.

Checked 25 September 2026 by TravelShifu · How we research · Airlines change these rules — confirm with your airline before you fly.

Cabin bag rules by airline

Standard economy fare. Sizes include wheels and handles unless the airline says otherwise. “Depends on route” means the cheapest fare includes the cabin bag on some routes but not others — see the condition.

Cabin baggage allowances for 30 airlines, checked 25 September 2026
AirlineCabin bag max sizeWeightPersonal itemOn cheapest fareConditionSource
Aer LingusEI55 × 40 × 24 cm10 kg40 × 30 × 20 cmDepends on routeSaver fares in Europe exclude the 10 kg bag (it can be checked in free); transatlantic fares include it.Official page
Air CanadaAC55 × 40 × 23 cmNo limit published43 × 33 × 16 cmDepends on routeEconomy Basic is personal item only within Canada, the US, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central America.Official page
Air FranceAF55 × 35 × 25 cm12 kg40 × 30 × 15 cmNo — paid add-on12 kg covers the cabin bag and small bag together; Basic fares include the small bag only.Official page
American AirlinesAA56 × 36 × 23 cm (22 × 14 × 9 in)No limit published45 × 35 × 20 cmYesBasic Economy includes a carry-on but boards last, so overhead bins may be full.Official page
ANANH55 × 40 × 25 cm10 kg40 × 30 × 20 cmYes10 kg covers the bag and personal item together; 115 cm total size cap.Official page
British AirwaysBA56 × 45 × 25 cmNo limit published40 × 30 × 15 cmYesNo weight limit published; you must be able to lift the bag into the locker yourself.Official page
Cathay PacificCXNot published on its static pages7 kgNot statedYesAll Economy fares include one 7 kg piece plus a small item.Official page
Delta Air LinesDL56 × 35 × 23 cm (22 × 14 × 9 in)No limit publishedNot statedYesNo weight limit published; small Delta Connection aircraft allow personal items only.Official page
easyJetU256 × 45 × 25 cm15 kg45 × 36 × 20 cmNo — paid add-onThe large cabin bag is paid, or included with easyJet Plus and Inclusive fares.Official page
EmiratesEK55 × 38 × 22 cm7 kgNot statedYesPremium Economy allows 10 kg; some departures (Brazil, India) have different limits.Official page
Etihad AirwaysEY56 × 36 × 23 cm7 kgNot statedYesEconomy gets one cabin bag; the extra small bag is for premium cabins only.Official page
Frontier AirlinesF924 × 16 × 10 in (about 61 × 41 × 25 cm)15.9 kg18 × 14 × 8 in (about 46 × 36 × 20 cm)No — paid add-onWeight published as 35 lb (15.9 kg); the carry-on is a paid add-on or bundle.Official page
IberiaIB56 × 40 × 25 cm10 kg40 × 30 × 15 cmYesIberia says all fares include the 10 kg bag; on Air Nostrum flights it may be held at the aircraft door.Official page
Japan AirlinesJL55 × 40 × 25 cm10 kgNot statedYes10 kg covers the bag and personal item together; 115 cm total size cap.Official page
JetBlueB622 × 14 × 9 in (56 × 36 × 23 cm)No limit published17 × 13 × 8 in (43 × 33 × 20 cm)YesJetBlue says every fare, Blue Basic included, gets a carry-on and a personal item.Official page
KLMKL55 × 35 × 25 cm12 kg40 × 30 × 15 cmNo — paid add-on12 kg covers both bags together; Economy Basic includes the small bag only.Official page
LufthansaLH55 × 40 × 23 cm8 kg40 × 30 × 15 cmDepends on routeShort- and medium-haul Economy Basic is personal item only; long-haul Economy includes a cabin bag.Official page
NorwegianDY55 × 40 × 23 cm10 kg40 × 30 × 20 cmNo — paid add-onLowFare includes the under-seat bag only; LowFare+ adds an overhead bag; 10 kg is the combined total.Official page
QantasQF56 × 36 × 23 cm7 kgNot statedYes7 kg is the international Economy total; domestic Economy allows 14 kg total, 10 kg per item.Official page
Qatar AirwaysQR50 × 37 × 25 cm7 kgNot statedYesIncluded on Economy Lite; a small handbag or briefcase is allowed in addition.Official page
RyanairFR55 × 40 × 20 cm10 kg40 × 30 × 20 cmNo — paid add-onThe 10 kg overhead bag comes only with Priority & 2 Cabin Bags.Official page
Singapore AirlinesSQ115 cm total (length + width + height)7 kg40 × 30 × 10 cmYesNo separate dimensions published; one extra small item such as a handbag or laptop.Official page
Southwest AirlinesWN24 × 16 × 10 in (about 61 × 41 × 25 cm)No limit publishedNot statedYesWheels and handles count towards the size; oversized bags must be checked.Official page
Spirit AirlinesNK56 × 46 × 25 cm (22 × 18 × 10 in)No limit published45 × 35 × 20 cm (18 × 14 × 8 in)No — paid add-onThe cheapest fare includes a personal item only; the carry-on is bought separately or in a bundle.Official page
SWISSLX55 × 40 × 23 cm8 kg40 × 30 × 15 cmDepends on routeShort- and medium-haul Economy Basic is personal item only; long-haul Economy includes a cabin bag.Official page
Turkish AirlinesTK55 × 40 × 23 cm8 kg40 × 30 × 15 cm (4 kg)YesPersonal item capped at 4 kg; bags over the limits pay a fee at the gate.Official page
United AirlinesUA56 × 35 × 23 cm (22 × 14 × 9 in)No limit published43 × 25 × 22 cmDepends on routeBasic Economy is personal item only, except on transatlantic, transpacific and South America trips.Official page
Virgin AtlanticVS56 × 36 × 23 cm10 kg40 × 30 × 15 cmYesEconomy Light includes one 10 kg cabin bag plus an under-seat bag.Official page
WestJetWS56 × 36 × 23 cmNo limit published41 × 33 × 15 cmDepends on routeUltraBasic is personal item only, except on Europe and Asia routes.Official page
Wizz AirW655 × 40 × 23 cm10 kg40 × 30 × 20 cmNo — paid add-onThe trolley bag comes only with WIZZ Priority; wheels may add up to 5 cm.Official page

Which airlines include a cabin bag on the cheapest fare?

16 of the 30 airlines we checked include a full-size cabin bag on their cheapest economy fare: American Airlines, ANA, British Airways, Cathay Pacific, Delta Air Lines, Emirates, Etihad Airways, Iberia, Japan Airlines, JetBlue, Qantas, Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines, Southwest Airlines, Turkish Airlines, Virgin Atlantic. On 6 more it depends on the route — Aer Lingus, Air Canada, Lufthansa, SWISS, United Airlines, WestJet.

Which airlines charge for an overhead cabin bag?

8 airlines include only an under-seat personal item on their cheapest fare and charge for the overhead bag: Air France, easyJet, Frontier Airlines, KLM, Norwegian, Ryanair, Spirit Airlines, Wizz Air. Buying the bag with the booking is usually cheaper than paying at the gate.

What is the most common cabin bag size limit?

55 × 40 × 23 cm is the most common published maximum, used by 6 of the 30 airlines. A bag no bigger than 50 × 35 × 20 cm fits every airline here that publishes separate dimensions; some airlines also cap the total of length, width and height, so check yours.

Which airlines have no cabin bag weight limit?

9 airlines publish no weight limit for the main cabin bag: Air Canada, American Airlines, British Airways, Delta Air Lines, JetBlue, Southwest Airlines, Spirit Airlines, United Airlines, WestJet. They still require that you can lift the bag into the locker yourself. The strictest common limit is 7 kg, used by Cathay Pacific, Emirates, Etihad Airways, Qantas, Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines.

How we collected this data

On 25 September 2026 we opened each airline’s own baggage page (or an official airline PDF where the web page was unavailable) and recorded the published limits for the standard economy fare. We did not use third-party sites or earlier notes. Where an airline publishes no value — Cathay Pacific’s dimensions, for example — the table says so rather than estimating one.

  • Southwest and Frontier publish sizes in inches and Frontier’s weight in pounds; the centimetre and kilogram figures are our conversions.
  • Some pages differ by market or departure country; the condition column notes the exceptions we saw.
  • Premium cabins, status holders and some routes get more — this table covers the standard economy allowance.

Use and cite this data

Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with credit. Suggested citation: TravelShifu, “Airline cabin baggage allowances”, checked 25 September 2026, https://travelshifu.com/research/airline-cabin-baggage-allowances/. Journalists can contact the editorial team.